Remote Desktop provides the ability for you to log onto and remotely administer your server, giving you a method of managing it from any client. Installed for remote administration, only two concurrent Remote Desktop sessions are allowed. Leaving a session running takes up one license and can affect other users. If two sessions are running, new users will be denied access.
Note: Remote Desktop, available from the Maintenance page, is only supported on systems running Internet Explorer.
Logging off and Disconnecting
Remote Desktop provides two options when closing a client: you can either disconnect or log off the system.
Disconnecting leaves the session running on the server. You can reconnect to the server and resume the session. If you are performing a task on the server, such as running a time-consuming query on a database, you can start the task and disconnect from the session. Later, you can log back on the server, re-enter the session, and either resume the task or check results. This is especially helpful when operating over a remote access connection on a long-distance toll line.
Network administrators can limit the amount of time a disconnected session can remain on the server. Check with your administrator for information about limits to session length.
Ending the session is known as logging off. Logging off ends the session running on the server. Any applications running within the session will be closed and unsaved changes made to open files will be lost. The next time you log onto the server, a new session is created.
Remote Desktop requires that all connecting users be authenticated, which is why users must log on each time they start a session.
To access Remote Desktop